Non agressive riding

Related:
Create New Tag

9/16/2015 5:35 AM

Hi all,
I am new to BMX, after many years of non agressive mtb. I ride mostly for fun and fitness and I love my new cruiser, but all I hear since getting the bike is 'what tricks can you do?' and 'you should do this or that trick'. Doesn't anyone ride BMX with two wheels on the ground, and not racing against the clock?

I'd love to hear from those who do.
Eugene

|

9/16/2015 6:08 AM

For the most part people on here are all about tricks, and you'll see that with young kids. That's all they care about, and if you say you can do a barspin, they respond with "Do it".

They don't care if you WANT to do them, they just expect you to show off.

Honestly I have found just cruising, doing little stuff here and there is more fun to me nowadays.

|

"Hey anybody ever make that mistake like right when you wake up in the morning and you believe in yourself?" -Kyle Kinane

"BIKES!" -Tom Segura

9/16/2015 6:40 AM

I'm big on just flowing around bowls. Yes, that involves less than two tires on the ground, but I don't really do tricks aside from a few tabletops and maybe a 270.

When kids ask, I just tell them I don't really do tricks; I just like to go fast.

|

9/16/2015 6:55 AM

Well, first the foundation of BMX is in racing and freestyle (tricks and stuff) So, practically everyone that gets into it does one or the other (or both)....it's sorta the point and a super comfy cruise is not what BMX bikes are designed for.

Second, if you like cruising around on your 24", go for it. There isn't a rule book to follow, so choose a path or blaze your own and most importantly, have fun doing it. Kids are going to talk shit, make fun, and whatever else....so get used to ignoring them, fighting (if you are also a youth), or showing them up.

If, however, you are trying to cruise around a skatepark, then you should really go somewhere else.

|

9/16/2015 7:07 AM
Edited Date/Time: 9/16/2015 7:08 AM

mlsthmpsn wrote: