Oh hey I'm new, and I have questions.

Related:
Create New Tag

6/17/2017 11:02 PM

So... getting into the weeds out the gate. Im old. Im 32, im fat I'm 235, and sort of tall at 6'1". I'm also a bmx dinosaur. I started riding bmx bikes in the 90s because my parents were sick of me destroying everything from Walmart. My main ride was a 99 gt performer.

Many years later I'm frothing for a new bike. Everything is different. Choices are over whelming me.

So first off, I live near danscomp, so despite any hate that's most likely where I'm going. Unless something amazing is hidden else where. Which is totally fine.

My top tube preference is 20.75 and up.
I've looked a lot at the following.
Kink liberty
Kink downside
Fiend embryo a+
Fit benny- getting outside what I want to spend.
Sunday Model C -albes
Volume Broc Raiford

And several more in that price range.
It's not as if there's a shortage exactly.
But I can't find reviews, not anything past team riders praising their employers.
Or haters responding with "shits lame".

So I guess I'm just looking for some direction. Im only interested in the highest quality parts between 500-600$

Any recommendations are appreciated.

|

6/18/2017 12:14 AM

Every bike in a given price range will be very similar regarding quality. One may come with a better back wheel but worse front wheel than another. But you might be able to find a better bike on sale.
Buying a used custom build is always a good thing to look at too. You could probably get a $1000 bike for $300.

At your height, I'd definitely recommend 21" + for the toptube length!

What kind of riding are you planning on doing? At your age (coming from another old guy) I'd recommend something with a slightly longer chainstay. It's closer to what we used to ride back in the day, and the stability is helpful. Maybe a bike that's aimed more at trails than street, even if you ride street

|

6/18/2017 1:33 AM