Pedal Grip Recommendations?

Related:
Create New Tag

7/27/2020 5:30 AM

Just started racing BMX again. I have been riding MTB for the last 20 years and always have been clipless. Now, I have to be on platforms for now and having grip issues. Granted, I am using some old GT platforms and crossfit shoes... so its not like I am expecting much. I will go clipless as soon as I move to intermediate, so I don't want to spend a fortune right now.

Planning on just getting some Vans, but anyone have any recommendations for a good budget friendly platform?

|

7/27/2020 6:10 AM

buy a pair of 5-10 shoes... then use any pedal you want.

|

7/27/2020 7:34 AM

I've got shadow pedals and a normal set of vans. I like the combo. I forget the name of the pedals but they're kind of thin, but flat, and have checkering besides the pins. Next pair of vans I will try pros just cuz the sole is thicker. But they are my favorite pair of shoes after they broke into my foot. It's weird I didn't think I'd like them when I first got them cuz the sole is kind of flat, but it's like they are custom made for my feet now. LOL.

Photo

Photo

|

Philippians 1:6 And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Christ Jesus. Insta: SilentNightSun

7/27/2020 10:27 AM
Edited Date/Time: 7/27/2020 11:37 AM

A good shoe with any pedals from a reputable BMX company today will be fine.

EDIT: But if you wanna go a little overboard like I did, I’ve got Larry Edgar’s signature Vans, and Alston BMX Racing pedals. Extremely grippy, haven’t slipped a foot in a very long time.

Photo
Photo

|

Scooter kid trying to ride BMX.
Instagram: @scootereyn

7/27/2020 11:33 AM

Fortyseven wrote: