Pinched dropout, cant remove wheel.

Related:
Create New Tag

11/28/2018 7:42 AM

I just bought a new complete WeThePeople Justice rode it once (I'm a beginner so it was only small grinds on a metal ledges). My spokes got crazy loose, which is to be expected with new wheels; however I cannot take my back wheel off because my back dropout seems to be pinched and theres a decent dent on the drive side chainstay.

I cannot imagine grinding an 18inch ledge would dent and bend a fully chromoly frame, I dont really care about the dent too much I just wanna true/tighten up my wheel so I can ride, bike shops are saying they cant true a wheel on a frame. So ill probably just try to do it myself so I can ride because I know it can be done for sure. I dont wanna be banging/cutting/filing on my frame till I hear back from WTP.

TLDR: Has anyone trued a wheel on a frame before or not been able to get a back wheel off from a pinched dropout, if so what did you do? I just wanna ride and probably being impatient.

|

11/28/2018 7:57 AM
Edited Date/Time: 11/28/2018 8:01 AM

It's not the height of the ledge that matters; it's how you absorb the impact when you first hit the ledge. If you absorb the impact properly, you're far less likely to break/bend anything.

Everyone has trued a wheel in a frame at some point; it's definitely doable but it's not as good as the actual dedicated tool for the task(truing stand). Most people don't have truing stands and they manage just fine; just use the old cable-tie trick:

I have only had to deal with a bent dropout once but I just got a crowbar and bent it back. Another solution would be to grind off the ends of the dropouts but I'd avoid that until everything else has failed.
|

My Sunday Soundwave V3 Build
Insta: @p.gibbons

"You can't educate pork"
- grumpySteve