Polishing and rawing aluminium parts.

Related:
Create New Tag

7/27/2013 6:41 AM

I'm looking to get an S&M Enduro stem some time soon but unfortunately they don't come raw.
So I'm probably gonna get one in black and just polish it my self.
I know there was a thread about it that was really helpful but I can't seem to find it.
So how can I get a chrome looking stem?

|

"Are they punkin' me Tio, are they punkin' me?"

7/27/2013 6:58 AM

I've done this with a challenger. The best thing to do is buy some Silvo . Put that on, wait 15 minutes, wipe it off, the more you do it, they shinier it gets.

|

I do stuff and I'm not good at it.
I got refs

7/27/2013 7:33 AM

Wow. What a coincidence! I am actually doing that to Sun Big Baller rims right now. I got a lot of helpful info from Google. Most of what I found was on bmxmuseum. They said to sand down the part to 3000 grit and use Blue Magic polish with Charmin toilet paper to get chrome like shine (HAS TO BE THE RED LABEL CHARMIN because ANY other TP has small tiny wood grains in it). This is great for restoring parts with scratches all over them, but I have brand new wheels. Therefore, I'm using Aircraft Paint Stripper. This time I got a spray can version from Wal-mart. I also bought Mothers Mag and Aluminum Polish because they didn't have Blue Magic, and some people prefer Mothers for its workability and lack of BM's ammonia smell.

Unless your stem is badly scratched, that's how I would do it. Plus, how are you going to sand in the crevices? Paint stripper is the way to go and is much cheaper than all of that sandpaper! Just make sure you use eye protection / gloves AND DO NOT get it ANYWHERE on you. It burns like crazy! Also, I would sand the outside of the part with 1500 grit and then 2000 grit as best as you can to cut down any noticeable scratches. Mothers/Blue magic will take care of the rest.

When I'm done, I'll post pics!

|

7/27/2013 7:34 AM

Raw it with oven cleaner