Riding with diabetes

Related:
Create New Tag

5/13/2016 10:35 AM
Edited Date/Time: 5/13/2016 10:37 AM

Okay, so this subject has been laying around in my head. I have diabetes....and for those of you who dont know, when certain things are badly neglected, after long periods of time, complications may occur (cancer, kidney problems, the eventual need to amputate a hand/foot in extreme situations). And all of them basically appear from the bad management of blood sugar levels in my body. Anyway, I was wondering...since riding takes physical effort and effort decreases blood sugar levels pretty easily and can produce instability at times, is this lovely hobby worth investing time in? I mean if bad stuff can happen because i do the only thing i love to do on this earth...is it worth continuing? I have been YOLO-ing for four years now and have not thought about it until now. I know its kind of a tough subject and maybe its not okay posting it around here, but i dont keep in touch with my doctor at all, so im curious what your opinion is. Thanks :-)

|

5/13/2016 11:11 AM
Edited Date/Time: 5/13/2016 11:20 AM

I have Type 2 diabetes, and riding has helped me pretty much get rid of it....meaning that my A1C number is now below the level where I am considered Diabetic. Though, once diagnosed, you always have it. For Type 2 - which is where your body makes too much insulin, physical activity is encouraged to burn off the extra sugar/insulin. Also, I am supposed to watch what I eat, which I will admit I am pretty bad at, but the physical activity allows me to be stupid with my food intake....stupid being the part I need to fix.

Talk to your doctor for sure about it, but my doctor said that the more fit I am, the less I will be effected by Diabetes. You have to keep in touch with your doctor. I hate hospitals/doctors etc, but in this case it really is life or death if you don't. And I would rather be alive to ride then dead to not do anything....