Rookie needs help with buying a bmx

Related:
Create New Tag

7/31/2018 11:20 AM

Im new to this bmx thing and im looking for a solid bike. Im a beginner, ~6ft (1.83m), 73 kg.
There arent many options available in my country (Estonia), these 2 are the best i could find. If i wanted to get something else then i'd have to order from another country. Also, could you fit a gyro brake system thingy on the WTP bike? If not then im not interested in it.

1. WeThePeople 2018 Arcade (20.5´) - 408€ on sale, 480€ full price.
2. Haro Midway 21TT - 479€

I found 2 online stores that have free shipping to Estonia. If neither of those is good then suggest me some good bikes from these 2 sites. I really dont want to spend over 500€, ~400€ would be perfect. That should get me a solid bike that lasts a long time, hopefully.
The stores:

1. Kunstform.org
2. Sourcebmx.com

If you need any more info then just ask, I'll try to be active.

|

7/31/2018 11:36 AM

Source would be my go-to for buying online in your area. Never heard of the other place (not that they aren't any good. I've just never dealt with them). At your size/weight, even though you are a beginner & looking at what those bikes are going to cost you (the WTP & the Haro) there are better bikes to be had. In fact, this is the bike you could get that is head and shoulders above the two you listed:

https://www.sourcebmx.com/en/Kink-Whip-XL-BMX-Bike-2019/m-36049.aspx

|

7/31/2018 11:57 AM

Yes there are better bikes, those are just the best in my country.
550€ is a little too much. Arent there any worthy bikes at around 400-450? If not then i might spend more. Buy nice or buy twice.
Kunstform seems reputable so if anyone has time then they could check that site out aswell. I will have a look aswell when i can and i'll post my findings here.

I forgot to mention that i would prefer 20-22" sized wheels and a gyro brake system.

|

7/31/2018 12:50 PM