School me on bar ends....

Related:
Create New Tag

12/30/2019 3:32 PM

I bought some ODI grips and the bar ends are like 2" long or so. It seems like it makes the grips kind of loosey goosey towards the end, at least this particular type. They're pretty soft. Do you guys just sometimes ixnay bar ands and put the grips on to where it's almost flush with the metal?

Or what do you like to do? Other thing is seems like bars are so wide as it is, adding that much more seems silly. Especially if it's not very rigid. I know you can cut bars down but it doesn't seem like a good idea to cut them 2" shorter on each side to accommodate the bar ends...… Unless maybe they're better than these ones I got.

And yes, my bike is cheap and ugly. I'm a newb and it's what I have for now.

|

Philippians 1:6 And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Christ Jesus.

12/30/2019 3:43 PM

From what I can see, the grips aren't completely pushed on to the bars so the bar ends are just in the grips. I'm I correct in what I'm seeing?

|

12/30/2019 3:46 PM

|

12/30/2019 3:49 PM

I'm not sure I entirely understand. Are you not putting the barends all the way into your bars? They shouldn't be adding 2" inches to your bar width, it should be more like half an inch in total. When I install barends, I put the grips on so they are flush with the ends of the bar, then I push the barends as far as they will go into my bars.

|

12/30/2019 3:49 PM
Edited Date/Time: 12/30/2019 3:55 PM

Your grips look floppy at the end but it might be the photo. Idk. Hope it helps.

By the way I do run bar ends but I have some with a screw that I can take off really easy.
|

12/30/2019 3:56 PM

install grips all the way onto the bars.

install bar ends into the end of the bars.

|

12/30/2019 3:59 PM

Bar ends are meant to push into the actual bars, not the grips. Install your grips until they’re flush with the end of your bars, then push the bar end in.

|