Squatters (barbell/exercise) -- How do you find it affects your biking?

Related:
Create New Tag

9/13/2014 7:13 PM

I've seen a lot of people post 'leg strength isn't important for hops' and similar firm statements, but others (myself included) disagree.
I'm mostly interested in squats:hop feedback (because i think it's the msot direct), but curious about any thoughts on 'general fitness/strength' relative to bmx performance/skill levels.

|

9/13/2014 7:15 PM
Edited Date/Time: 10/18/2014 9:11 PM

after i started lifting at school, i found the only thing i noticed was that i didnt get as sore and that squats helped me have more endurance pedalling up hills and stuff

|

refs: hookjrclc, hardbmxtim, hatchmoses for sale and trade, kymike for sale and trade, blizzbikes for trade, and some other dude i cant remember his username, vrsapat956, colonydirt94, mario.villegas90, wolfen
Camera Setup: Panasonic HMC150, Panasonic GH2, Canon FTBn, Yashica Lynx 5000e, Canon 28mm f/2.8, Canon 50mm f1.4, Rokinon 7.5mm f/3.5

9/13/2014 8:17 PM

I used to do these bridge lift things (I think they're called). You basically lie on your back with your knees up and fuxk the air slowly haha. Sounds weird but it made riding long distances/pedaling easier

|

Honestly? Who gives a shit. Its the fucking internet. I hate all of you equally.
-HardBMX_Tim

9/13/2014 8:47 PM
Edited Date/Time: 9/13/2014 8:48 PM

^sounds like advanced kegels ;P

i ride bmx and fixed-gear street/distance, and see similar gains in both types of riding coinciding w/ "fitness" (strength, cardio-capacity, flexibility, etc), and anytime i hear ppl saying stuff like 'strength doesn't matter' i just think 'bullshit' lol

|

9/13/2014 8:53 PM

adfkje wrote:

^sounds like advanced kegels ;P

i ride bmx and fixed-gear street/distance, and see similar gains in both types of riding ...more

I feel that strength only matters if you dont fall within a standard deviation of the mean