Starting on BMX

Related:
Create New Tag

5/29/2017 4:22 PM

Hello guys, Im a 30 years old guy looking to have some fun with a bmx. Im not looking to do crazy tricks just the basic to enjoy on street and skate parks.
I bought a second hand mongoose legion L20. I checked some size charts and i saw that 20" top tube its fine for my height ( 5 " and 7', 1.70 m). But i read that the rise hadle bar of this bike is 7.5 " and this is small for my size and kinda lost, can I just buy a bigger hadle bar?
I rode the bike and feels right for my size but I have no experience with BMX so i dont know what to think.
I need some advise please

Thank you

|

5/30/2017 12:07 AM

It's personal preference really. You can get taller bars, and I personally would recommend about 8.5" you'll definitely feel the difference. But any higher than that and it might feel like you'll loop out when you lift the front end.
A lot of people your height use like 10" bars, because it's a bit of a trend now. But there is such a thing as too high.
To put it into perspective, I'm 6' and use 8.5" bars with a 14mm rise stem and 10mm stack headset.

It's really hard to tell how high your bars should be because it purely comes down to personal preference. You'll need to try a few different heights until you find what you like

|

6/1/2017 9:34 AM

ride it as is, once you have got used to it you might still feel you need a little height on the bars, I did on my bike with 8" bars, I resisted the temptation to adjust anything till i got used to the fact i was riding a BMX bike, then all i did was flip the stem upside down and that seems to be enough as i don't feel as cramped on the bike now.

Where in the UK are you?

|

6/1/2017 12:50 PM

Aledv wrote:

Hello guys, Im a 30 years old guy looking to have some fun with a bmx. Im not looking to do crazy tricks just the basic to ...more