Stealth/Low Key Custom Build?

Related:
Create New Tag

12/31/2017 1:09 PM

Hey folks,

I’m new to BMX, did my first indoor park sesh today. I’m awful but keen to learn and have fun.

You may have seen my last build. I love to build bikes. I don’t wanna buy an off the shelf 20” complete really. I wanna build a keeper. Good parts, good frame etc. But the issue is, I’m shit! I don’t wanna bike that shouts “bmx badass” because I am 100% not that and never will be.....not for another 20years of solid riding anywaywink
I work hard and make ok money and like to spend it on things I enjoy.
I’ve kind of fallen for a few frames....Sunday Soundwave, Fit Dugan and any of the S&Ms.

So my question is in the title.....how do I go about making a bike that doesn’t shout about itself but also satisfies my need to make it as serious as I can.

Or do I say FTW and build what I want and accept everyone will call me a prick? I don’t really wanna be that guy!

Thoughts??? (Be nice)

|

If you build it, they will come

12/31/2017 1:17 PM

You could get the frame you want and put a bunch of stickers on it to make it look not so good but yeah I would just make a bike how you want it since it's your money, the people who talk shit will mainly be kids who are broke so don't take them seriously.

|

Hmmm

12/31/2017 1:34 PM

If i were you, I'd maybe focus on building up themed bikes? Maybe some custom paint and stickers on parts of your choice?

Similar to you, I'm pretty shit at riding but love spending time building up bikes exactly how I want them. & since I assume you don't care much for technical specs of the parts, you can focus on buying solely based on looks and price to really bring the build together just right. For example, I've always thought my bars would look stunning on a Batman themed build for some reason haha.
Photo