Tall guy frame

Related:
Create New Tag

8/20/2019 2:19 AM

Hi guys!

Getting into bmx but cant figure out what frame size I need.. Im between 6’4-6’5 / 195-200. I had my eyes on a kink backwood in 21.5 for a while.

But yesterday i found another option, David grants frame bsd raider which had a much bigger standover height thats supposed to make bigger setups less twitchy. Sounds nice as im going to run 9.5 or 10 bars.

The bsd frame comes in 21.3 or 21.6, could the 21.3 be enough for me as im a tad shorter than David who rides 21.6 (6’5)?

I read in one thread that a slightly shorter frame & big bars was better for the back as youll stand more upright instead of hunching over the bars. Any tips om the setup is welcomed as im just starting out!

|

8/20/2019 3:14 AM

Hey mate! BMX is a tricky one, because there is no “right” frame size for anyone. For example, I’m 5’9” and I ride a 21.25, it is ultimately down to personal preference. You’ll likely be most comfortable on the 21.5 backwoods or the 21.6 raider. What kind of riding will you be doing? If twitchiness is a concern, a lower BB and longer wheelbase is a better option than a taller standover, at least in my experience.

|

8/20/2019 4:17 AM

Sup man im 6,4 and ride a 21 inch top tube. as brodiebmx said its preference. Same with handlebars, mine feel quite bad at 8,25 but am hopefully getting 10s soon. Good Luck!

|

8/20/2019 5:02 AM

Yes standover brings some stability, we can feel that in the air but unlike chainstay length or bb height I can’t really explain why.

The raider frame got some quite long chainstays and high bb so it’s stable without the (too much) sticked to the ground feel of 11.5” bb’s.

Shorter setups can be better for your back because of the straighter position but it also makes the bike lose some pop, because it tends to loop out when trying to hop really high.