Tires skinnier than advertised?

Related:
Create New Tag

4/4/2018 11:02 AM

I recently bought a Cult Dehart tire. It looked skinny when I mounted it, so I measured it to be 2.28" instead of the advertised 2.4". Does anyone know why this is?

|

4/4/2018 11:03 AM

VenomousDancer1234 wrote:

I recently bought a Cult Dehart tire. It looked skinny when I mounted it, so I measured it to be 2.28" instead of the ...more

Did you inflate it to the maximum psi?
If you did, you likely bought a tire in 2.25 size by accident, or they shipped you the wrong size.

|

Gave up on BMX to hang out with 13 year old soundcloud rappers, what a life, such a cool guy!
-Sheldon on Adam22

"The only future for BMX"

Yeah, kids getting shit bikes, breaking them and then quitting. LOL
-jbales on mafiaBIKES

I’ve been a 14 year old beginner for the last ten years
-adamnmexican

4/4/2018 11:06 AM
Edited Date/Time: 4/4/2018 11:07 AM

What pressure are you running and what is the inner width of your rims? Low pressure will mean your tyres don't inflate to full size and the same for skinnier rims. Also, most tyres I've had have had a "stretching" period, after which the tyres should have reached full size(usually larger than advertised).

|

My Sunday Soundwave V3 Build
Insta: @p.gibbons

"You can't educate pork"
- grumpySteve

"Life should not be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside in a cloud of smoke, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming "Wow! What a Ride!""
- Hunter S. Thompson

4/4/2018 11:07 AM

No. The package said 2.4" and they don't offer the slick in a 2.25. When I purchased the 2.4" the 2.3" was unavailable.

|

4/4/2018 11:08 AM

No. The package said 2.4" and they don't offer the slick in a 2.25. When I purchased the 2.4" the 2.3" was unavailable.

What does it say on the tyre though?

|

"You can't educate pork"
- grumpySteve