Tools

Related:
Create New Tag

12/18/2014 6:36 PM

I have a feeling I'm going to need to replace my BB bearings soon because I am getting a slight crunch and mad squeaks every time I pedal. I would like to change them myself seeing as I probably can't afford my local bike shop replacing them.

I've never done this before though and have no idea what to buy. I will research on my own on how to install it all, but I just need some quick advice on tools and what to product buy.

I know I will need grease, but that's about it. lol I will be ordering through danscomp.

I have an american bb, so am I able to just buy any of the bb kits on danscomp that say they are compatible with american bb?
Any bb kits I should stay away from buying?

Assuming that is all I have to buy, are there any special tools I should look into?

Any help is appreciated!

|

12/18/2014 6:43 PM

First off, is it sealed or unsealed?

There's a couple different methods you can use, but first I need to know what you're working with

|

12/18/2014 6:54 PM

They are currently sealed bearings with an american bb

|

12/18/2014 7:53 PM

If they're sealed American bearings, then I'm fairly certain Mid BB bearings will fit in there. American bottom bracket bearings are the same size as Mid bottom bracket bearings, American BBs just use cups that the bearings sit it. So if you wanted to save some cash, you could find JUST the bearings or something. Unless you need the whole setup, cause sometimes the cups can wear out.

Just a thought.

Otherwise you can't go wrong with whichever American BB you choose, they're pretty much all the same. Just find one and make sure it's the right size for your spindle.