WTP Battleship frame question

Related:
Create New Tag

2/20/2018 3:30 PM
Edited Date/Time: 2/20/2018 3:34 PM

What's the point of the hydroformed gussets other than looking cool? How exactly are hydroformed gussets any different from a standard gusset? Is it any stronger? If so, explain how.Photo

|

Ride for yourself and have fun

2/20/2018 3:34 PM
Edited Date/Time: 2/20/2018 3:34 PM

Id say based purely on visuals and a very limited understanding of structure, they should be significantly stroger just based on the shape alone.

I have no background in welding or frame building besides basic carpentry.

|

2/20/2018 3:37 PM

Greater contact area. Smaller HAZ possibly? Not sure if it makes a great deal of difference compared to a frame that's been welded well though

|

2/20/2018 3:40 PM

They also hold to the very top and bottom of the ht. That may affect the leverage or something that leads to them being ripped off.

|

Hmmm

2/20/2018 5:22 PM

Probably more for looks than anything, but it might be slightly stronger. I think it looks pretty cool anyway.

|

2/20/2018 11:52 PM

It has a bigger weld which usually makes things more stiff , and I believe the shape slightly makes it easier for the welder as gas typically wants to rush out of a normal tube when almost sealed , which make things somewhat tricky ( so I’ve heard ) . The bigger junction is the main thing , it attaches to the headtube more than a normal gusset being placed on the toptube / downtube and just being welding on .

|

Instagram : braydenbuckingham
My Cult 2 Short

2/22/2018 6:17 AM

Anthony Loves Subrosa wrote:

What's the point of the hydroformed gussets other than looking cool? How exactly are hydroformed gussets any different from a ...more