WTP, Haro, Kink... how to start?

Related:
Create New Tag

8/21/2014 6:48 AM
Edited Date/Time: 8/21/2014 7:30 AM

Hi guys! I'm 21 years old and new to this forum, and I'm also new to bmx. I would like a good, solid beginner/middle class bmx bike that's gonna last for a while and my decision has come down to the WTP 2014 Crysis, HARO 2014 400.1, KINK 2014 Barrier and KINK 2014 Whip Hamlin.

The price gap between cheapest and more expansive is $157, but is there a "better" bike overall? Considering price, quality, brand, etc...

Here are the links to each:

WTP 2014 Crysis $ 492.95

HARO 2014 400.1 $ 433.45

KINK 2014 Barrier $ 391.96

KINK 2014 Whip Hamlin $ 335.96

Thanks, everyone smile

|

8/21/2014 6:58 AM

Welcome to the forum and welcome to the BMX world.

WeThePeople are one of the top brands in BMX, they make the best complete bikes in my opinion (my 2 year old bike is still fine)

What you want to look for :

Full Chromoly (frame,forks,bars,cranks)
Sealed Bearings
Integrated headset
Double wall rims
3 piece cranks.

The best complete brands (in my opinion) :

WeThePeople
Sunday
Fit

The more expensive a bike is the better quality it will be better.

Don't cheap out and buy a cheap bike that won't last you as long as a 500 dollar bike.

|

I'm gonna need bigger bars

8/21/2014 7:06 AM

I'd go for thee WTP but none of those are bad choices.

|

I love my bike but i hate myself
bike check

IG @curtis_cantbmxwell
@powersbikeshop
@kirolling

8/21/2014 7:07 AM
Edited Date/Time: 8/21/2014 7:09 AM

I started on a 2012 whip & zero of the parts broke,per the bikes fault. It felt like a good place to start and was all basic geo so i could choose what i liked when i went to buy parts, plus warranty was great with the back hub i broke because of being stupid and not tightening it until it was thrashed from banging around.

Someone i know bought a crysis and it didnt last long, but he also is the sketchiest rider ever.

|