Was this a fair deal?

Related:
Create New Tag

4/3/2018 10:05 PM

I picked up a MadMain Charged Purple for $35. The tyres still have life in them but are quite worn out, the rear was replaced with a sunday tyre that can hold 100psi feels similar quality to the crawlers. There is one pedal only on the bike which is a Deco, the grips are a bit worn out and one of them is starting to throttle grip. Bar ends are pretty much gone, there is no compression cap.

I checked both the frame and the wheels. The frame has no cracks or dents, just has scrapes as I would expect. But one scrape looks severe such as a good chunk of metal is missing when I look. This is on the chain stay but should it be fine?

Also I am not an expert at wheels, they are straight for the most part I didn't expect them to be 100% true. Just the rear has a hop in it, and they all have loose spokes. I remember there was someone who gave advice on how to carefully check a used bike, something about spoke holes or cracks i can't remember, but how do I check if the rims are good?

|

4/3/2018 10:10 PM
Edited Date/Time: 4/3/2018 10:11 PM

Oh, goodness.

Do post a photo, words only do so much. But it kinda does fit the price, and by the way you're explaining this, there's a chance you even overpaid for that Mafia, heh...

|

Scooter kid trying to ride BMX.
Instagram: @scootereyn

4/3/2018 10:16 PM

35 bucks sounds like a great deal for any semi complete contemporary bmx.

New set of pedals, grips and a spoke wrench will cost you around 40ish bucks. 75 bucks would still be a great deal to have a rideable bike. Id say anywhere from free-175.00 is a great deal for a decent used bike.

|

4/3/2018 10:34 PM

I'll post some pictures soon once my phone charges up, I looked again and I might be making it sound worse than it really is.

|

4/4/2018 12:06 AM