What is Slack?

Related:
Create New Tag

6/13/2015 7:43 AM

Im a noob, and what is minimum/maximum slack on my freecoaster? Pls help

|

6/13/2015 7:57 AM

The amount of free play in the clutch of a coaster before you can pedal forward.

With a cassette, there is very little, if any, slack. When you pedal forward, you go forward.

On a coaster, They can have almost no slack, like a cassette, making a fakie very hard. If you have none, as soon as your feet move, you're probably going to flip over onto your back.

But most, like myself when i rode a coaster, prefer to have maximum, or close to maximum. There is usually 1/4th a crank of slack in that setting. Also depending on the coaster, of course. 1/4th is like thinking of your crank rotation as a whole circle. and a quarter of it is free play. Once you pedal past the 1/4th area of slack, you have engaged the coaster and may begin pedaling. To disengage, all you have to do, before you are about to fakie, is pedal back about 1/4th of a crank. Which is great.

Now that the Profile Z Coaster is out and some have it, you can expect that to be rather different. It's a cassette until you pedal back past the amount of degree it has. Which is rad. Then to re-engage it into a cassette all you have to do is pedal into it past the degree in which it engages. You can also hear whether it's engaged or disengaged.

Coasters are really more simple to ride than explain. Personally, I won't have one again until the Clutch coaster from Odyssey drops. If i have the cash. Those coasters are sick. My biggest problem with coasting is the slack, I HATE the feeling of it when riding park. It's scary and weird. But on street, it's actually ideal. Which makes me just ride a cassette. Mainly because there is no point for me to not. I can fakie just as long. Even though it may not look as good. haha