What rear wheel should I get?

Related:
Create New Tag

6/11/2017 1:58 PM

So I messed up my rear hub (freecoaster, and it's a long story) and my rim isn't the best so I decided to just get a whole new rear wheel. Should I get a Federal rear wheel off of danscomp, which is $260? It's such a high price, and I will buy it if it's worth it but what about Alienation rear wheels? They are on danscomp as well but I have not heard of them. Are they any good? They are much cheaper and I am new to bmx, but would a more expensive wheel pay off eventually?

|

6/11/2017 2:08 PM

If you're talking about the freecoaster wheels, the alienation is a khe clone, as is the federal. So, they're pretty much the same but the federal has been through a few different versions and will probably hold up a bit better. I don't know much about federal rims, but the alienation comes with a sun big city, which is a pretty burly rim (probably heavy by today's standards? But pretty damn strong).

In all honesty, yeah the federal is probably the better wheel, and is worth spending the extra money on. But there's plenty of other freecoaster wheels out there. Non of them are cheap though

|

6/11/2017 2:15 PM

You should check out Albes bmx for a custom wheel. You could get, say an odyssey clutch laced to a nice rim for cheaper than that. I found (that for me at least) whenever I shop there I can use coupon code "tape" and get a lot off.

|

6/11/2017 2:16 PM

grumpySteve wrote:

If you're talking about the freecoaster wheels, the alienation is a khe clone, as is the federal. So, they're pretty much the same but the federal has been through a few different versions and will probably hold up a bit better. I don't know much about federal rims, but the alienation comes with a sun big city, which is a pretty burly rim (probably heavy by today's standards? But pretty damn strong).