When do you need to replace a chain?

Related:
Create New Tag

7/23/2013 3:58 AM

I've been riding for about 9 months, and I've never replaced my chain. When are you supposed to replace a chain?

|

7/23/2013 5:47 AM

When it breaks.

|

Refs: Tito24, RiverSideRider, Stussy, Nettyspaghetti, Daniel24, Freddydapice, BrokenBMX, SuperstarDK, HardBMX_Tim. There's more, but I'm too lazy to look them up, haha.

7/23/2013 11:57 AM

when it stretches out to much it up to you when you when you think it time to change it what chain are you running

|

ride or die

7/23/2013 12:00 PM

when you break it.

|

Old bike VVV

California Living

I now have a more or less stock sunday scout with a complete Demo rear wheel. Sue me

7/23/2013 1:44 PM

I'm just running a KMC chain; I think it's just one of the cheapo ones, I don't really know. As I said, I've been running the same chain for 9 months, and it creaks like crazy when I pedal, so I'm thinking of getting a new one. It's definately the chain that's creaking; I've pulled it up and down to see how tight it is, and It's creaked then.

|

7/23/2013 1:58 PM

Why don't you try cleaning and relubing it, then tightening up your back wheel a little and see how much of a difference that makes. Lol. That or just buy a new one for $10 at your local Wally World, shorten it and save yourself the trouble. I ride a cheap chain with zero problems as long as I don't tighten it too much or slam it on ledges, so I'm not willing to buy into the half link craze. Just more expensive, harder to work on, possibly not in stock at your LBS, so more of a pain in the ass in my eyes.

|

7/24/2013 2:34 AM

Yeah, I was originally going to get a shadow halflink, but with all the reviews saying how crap they are, with stretching really quickly and breaking 3 blocks away from the bs, I think I'll just get another cheap kmc chain. Thanks havok, I'll clean and relube it and see what happens! Thanks for your help.

|

7/24/2013 2:45 AM