Would I be better at hopping?

Related:
Create New Tag

12/23/2014 4:16 PM

Before, I'd probably be able to hop a foot? At most a foot but over the winter, (I started lifting) I got much stronger and when I start riding again in probably January, I'm hoping I'll be able to bring my bike up higher. Will I be able to hop noticeably higher?

|

12/23/2014 4:21 PM

hop height is dependent on 4 main factors in my experience
-BODY weight, not bike weight
-bike fit (tt length compared to height)
-strength
-technique

you will probably be able to hop about the same first time you ride of the year because you will not have ridden in a while, but then you will probably hop higher because your strength has increased, and maybe height depending on age

|

refs: hookjrclc, hardbmxtim, hatchmoses for sale and trade, kymike for sale and trade, blizzbikes for trade, and some other dude i cant remember his username, vrsapat956, colonydirt94, mario.villegas90, wolfen
Camera Setup: Panasonic HMC150, Panasonic GH2, Canon FTBn, Yashica Lynx 5000e, Canon 28mm f/2.8, Canon 50mm f1.4, Rokinon 7.5mm f/3.5

12/23/2014 4:33 PM

bmxsteve99 wrote:

hop height is dependent on 4 main factors in my experience
-BODY weight, not bike weight
-bike fit (tt length compared to ...more

Thanks man! Well My bikes fits me perfectly because I'm still 5'3 and I'm very light so I think I'm good. Thanks!

|

12/23/2014 5:40 PM

Strength doesn't do anything it's all technique.

|

12/25/2014 9:07 AM

brianoob wrote:

Strength doesn't do anything it's all technique.

really? Not even a little bit? You do need strength to lift your bike up though...

|

12/25/2014 9:20 AM

Strength is a factor but it's mostly technique.

Giving a bike to Brock Lesnar doesn't mean he's gonna hop high

|

12/25/2014 10:13 AM

For me, I'd say strength does help. Especially upper body strength man. Every notice how after practicing a lot of hops your arms get sore as shit sometimes?