good and light tyre

Related:
Create New Tag

11/7/2020 10:52 AM
Edited Date/Time: 11/7/2020 10:54 AM

so, i have the demolition hammerheads 2.4
and i also have éclat mirage 2.45 on my shelf incase something goes wrong..

i choose them both by the look and they are great but my overall frontier came out really heavy,
i had also heavy pegs which i switched to lighter ones and it did solve the problem really nice
i have now a nice frontier, love riding those tyres and I don't have to ride low psi

thing is i hate plastic pegs since I don't wanna buy those sleeves till the rest of my life, switching to metal ones
will make it heavier again. i thought i do switch to Kevlar beaded tyres but im afraid they wont hold up nicely in the streets and loads i am taking.

does pros do ride Kevlar beads? (I'm not a pro but i do like and intend to ride big..)
if so, what tyre would you recommend? or, what else i could sacrifice to be able ride metal ones but still balancing the weight reasonably ?

|

11/7/2020 10:57 AM

Maxxis grifter for it's weight it is still pretty damn durable.

|

11/7/2020 11:01 AM

you said you dont want metal pegs as they'll weigh your bike down but im pretty sure there are lightweight metal pegs out there.

|

11/7/2020 11:01 AM

The folding version of Alex Donnachie’s BSD tire is pretty light if I recall correctly. Just stay away from most park/race oriented tires for street riding even though they’re incredibly light. They just won’t hold up to grinding.

I do second the Grifters, though. Paul Ryan ran them at one point.

|

Scooter kid trying to ride BMX.
Instagram: @scootereyn

11/7/2020 1:04 PM

Can’t go wrong with grifters , or khe foldables if you can find them

|

11/7/2020 3:34 PM

eskimojay wrote:

WOW man TenFOUSDAND.

|

11/7/2020 4:10 PM

eskimojay wrote:

10k posts dang!

What are you gonna pick for your free wheelset??

|

11/8/2020 7:33 AM

odyssey aitken 2.45s

|

I like riding my bike.

11/8/2020 11:31 AM

bmxmanboy wrote: