newbie tire advice...

Related:
Create New Tag

1/19/2018 5:13 PM

I looked into quite a few of the hundreds of tire threads but figured I'd ask again...sorry. I'm new to the 20" scene after a loooong ass time. I'm just learning the basics again.
I bought a lightly used 16 Fit Dugan Sig with red/blk T/A tires. I went to Ray's MTB park for the first time this week. 30 min in the front end washed out and I went down. They were sketchy a few times after that and for 2 days that was in the back of my head.
I will be riding at Ray's, outdoor parks, and the street come spring. Tire wear isn't an issue. I'm looking at the GLHs which everybody seems to like. Thoughts/suggestions?

|

1/19/2018 5:24 PM

I suggest BSD Donnasqueaks because..

- They are grippy on all terrains
- Durable (lasts me 1+ year of concrete riding and constant grinding)
- They are lighter than most comparable tires without sacrificing durability
- The 2.25s are narrower than most modern 2.25 tires, so they roll fast and smooth instead of slow and sluggish
- They are larger in diameter than most tires of the same size, so they absorb impact like champs
- They come in just about any color you could want!
- They come in a slick "street" version if that's your preference

Animal tires are awesome too, but after a few years on Donnasqueaks, I can't see myself ever riding a different tire. They are just plain perfect!

|

Refs : SnM An1mal, GThompson121, Chuck8273, blizzbikes, bmxsteve99, kevin.brock.338, zinum, Brian_Griffin, billyhandyjunior, riverM, tomdon
Instagram : @timhankinsbmx

1/19/2018 5:38 PM

Curt D wrote:

I looked into quite a few of the hundreds of tire threads but figured I'd ask again...sorry. I'm new to the 20" scene after a ...more