tire psi to low???

Related:
Create New Tag

4/4/2017 5:49 PM

I have been riding street for about 5 years and just moved to Indy where we have major taylors so im riding a lot more park but ive kept my tires at 35 psi im 140 pounds all geared up. I know this is probably extremely low but i pumped my tires up to 60 and it felt awful it was super uncomfortable and i just did not feel right on my bike. I literally found a stick and let air out mid session it was that bad i couldnt seem to get the same hop or any grit on my tricks.. im pretty sure i hit rim pretty often and dont think thats very good lol. what do you think btw new to the site and forum

|

Crankflips are bae

4/4/2017 6:02 PM

35 psi? How is it working? Don't the rear wheel slide to much when jumping sideways,carving,or any sudden change of direction?

|

4/4/2017 6:04 PM
Edited Date/Time: 4/4/2017 6:04 PM

OldDudeCruisingAroundDoingStuff wrote:

35 psi? How is it working? Don't the rear wheel slide to much when jumping sideways,carving,or any sudden change of direction? ...more

actually i haven't had any issues unless going over like 5+ sets or drops its a bit sluggish which is annoying but im a pretty small dude i guess

|

Crankflips are bae

4/4/2017 6:12 PM
Edited Date/Time: 4/4/2017 6:15 PM

I mean,I never had tire pressure that low on bmx, only on my mtb. Maybe there's difference when the tire is bigger.
But at 30-35 psi on mtb a quick carve and bunny to the left or right ( imagine obstacle just around the corner,jumping instead of riding around the corner) and i end up sliding 2 feet straight ahead on my back wheel if not falling. It slides that milisecond that front wheel leaves the ground. And bmx is like 70 percent more riding maneuvers.
Well if it works for you. But yeah,it sounds like quick rim destruction.

|

4/4/2017 6:17 PM

but i like the absence of ''basketball'' sound when having lower pressure.

|

4/4/2017 6:42 PM
Edited Date/Time: 4/4/2017 6:43 PM