Advice on new cranks

Related:
Create New Tag

8/15/2016 1:20 PM

Hi, Not sure if this is the right part of the forums for this, if not let me know and I'll posts somewhere else.

I was wondering if I could get some advice on what cranks I should buy. I'm pretty new to BMX so if anyone could offer any advice it would be greatly appreciated. At the moment I have some stock wethepeople cranks and bb (the worst parts on the bmx which I bought second hand), but I'm looking to change as they are worn and creak after 10 minutes even if well greased and fully tightened. I have been looking online but I cant find much advice in terms of mid priced cranks. Odysseys seem like the way to go but at £140 they're a bit too expensive for me. However, I have also heard that any cranks under £100 are not likely to last very long. I am at a reasonable level doing mainly park but no huge transfers or anything - so I doubt I need extremely strong cranks. Would be interested to hear what people think. If cheap ones are not an option, would it be worth looking around for a good second hand pair which aren't too worn? Any help is appreciated, thanks

|

8/16/2016 4:54 AM

There's this website -> http://www.chainreactioncycles.com
And if you search bmx cranks or something like that it comes up with many. I purchase most of my bmx parts there because they have massive discounts, like 80% or something like that. The cheapest ones are £26 with a 40% discount so you should have a look there smile

|

8/16/2016 5:08 AM

Or look on sourcebmx.com or winstanleysbmx.com they've always got offers and deals. Odyssey cranks are very good, and have a lifetime warranty. However, they've got a 22mm axle, and yours are probably 19mm so you'd need a new bb too which will be about another £20.
There's a silly amount of options for cranks these days. You won't go wrong with any after market cranks though really. Just shop around and see what you can get in a sale or something

|

8/16/2016 6:44 AM