Budget mini ramp.

Related:
Create New Tag

3/16/2018 5:35 PM

I'm 29 years old, just decided to start riding again for the first time since I was 13! As a kid I always dreamed of having my own mini ramp, now as an adult with two acres of land it seems like it could be a very real possibility!

I'm a decent carpenter, I can source a lot of materials for free/cheap and buy the rest of what I need. I even have all my own tools, these days.

My biggest question is, wanting to do thos on the cheap, and with as much portability as possible, has anyone ever built/rode a mini ramp with a dirt flatbottom? I'm planning on building two 4ft quarters and just spacing them out at the back of the yard. Maybe add two more 6ft sections later.

If anyone has experience with this, what (if any) issues came up during construction, riding, or maintenance?

|

3/17/2018 6:40 PM

With a dirt flat-bottom, you're probably going to lose a whole lot of speed between. I'd definitely say to put a proper, wooden flat-bottom on it. It'd also reduce the amount of wood in contact with the ground if you raised it a few inches.

Keep as much of it off the ground as possible and use treated wood for anything that touches the ground, to prevent it from rotting away, very quickly.

I'd say to use fence posts(the type that drive into the ground) for the corners and build it on those. That way, you don't have to worry too much about leveling or the ground sinking; you just build it in place, level.

|

My Sunday Soundwave V3 Build
Insta: @p.gibbons

"You can't educate pork"
- grumpySteve

"Life should not be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside in a cloud of smoke, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming "Wow! What a Ride!""
- Hunter S. Thompson

3/20/2018 8:24 AM

2 acres?! Build some jumps! And a dirt bowl! With a log sub box!

|

3/20/2018 8:27 AM

grumpySteve wrote: