Related:
Create New Tag
mutterbilk mutterbilk
4/14/2017 8:13 PM

First post on the Vital BMX forums smile I'm really bad at trying to construct this post into something that isn't like a high school essay, because i'm sure none of you want to read this much, so i'll just bold the important shit.

I started riding about 5 or 6 years ago when i was in 10th/11th grade, and rode for about a year until i moved to a new city+school for my senior year, where my Haro was stolen shortly after. Havent ridden(rode? grammar? english?) a bike until now, 4 years after graduating. I bought a new Fit, and i'm pickin up where i left off.Photo

So. I'm left foot forward, and i grind on the left side. A few weeks ago i was practicing feebles and double pegs on a flat ledge, when i broke the master link off my chain. Not a big deal, went to Empire, and my homie there hooked me up and installed a new one(cuz i have 0 knowledge on bmx repairs). He said that's just something that happens when you grind on the sprocket side, and recommended getting a chain that doesn't have a master link(idk what those are called. a full chain? a half link chain?). Am i just not supposed to be grinding on the left side at all?

Also, when doing flat 180's, i spin towards my left foot. But when i'm practicing airing quarters, airing towards my right(back foot) feels safer and more natural.

Coming from skateboarding, i see a lot of similarities in BMX, mainly in the way tricks are named(feebles,smiths,disasters, etc...), but there are basic things that i'm sure i'm missing that i'm hoping y'all could shed some light on. Like unwritten rules/guidelines of BMX for example, or general tips...

Thanks, and keep shreddin smile

grumpySteve grumpySteve
4/14/2017 11:08 PM