I'm new here and I need some help... (handlebars, bunnyhop, tires, etc.)

Related:
Create New Tag

7/10/2013 12:48 PM

hey everyone, just wanna say that I finally decided to join the forum after lurking around long enough to actually made me register here! Actually I just started riding again last month after stopping several years back when my bike got stolen and I'm basically re-learning all the basics again and getting used to riding and stuff. Anyhow, I got myself a 2013 Sunday Gary Young AM last month as a sort of birthday present and glad to say its kinda nice riding a proper 21" bike lol. (as I live in Malaysia, they don't really sell 21" bike and this was practically the last bike in stock! Beats the hell out of the old 19.5 I rode years ago)

Anyhow, my questions are more regarding my bike rather than skill (okay, maybe the bunnyhops but I'll go on that a bit later) and I just wonder:

is a 8.5 or a 9 rise handlebar better for my size?
As I bought myself a complete bike (and almost all the parts are pretty decent), I just want to upgrade the bike a bit so it would be more comfortable to ride. One thing I never liked was the handlebars. Beside it being heavy (its hi-ten and not full chromoly) I somehow find the bar to be a bit long for me. Even after cutting 0.5 inches (which makes the width 27 inches I guess?) it still felt kinda "long" for me. Also it also feels short since I'm 6.0ft tall and I just find it hard to "pull" the handlebar and even find doing manuals a bit difficult. (let alone bunnyhops, but again, I'll ask later)