Need some advice for my manuals.

Related:
Create New Tag

2/6/2017 2:03 PM

Hi all,

Apologies if there is a previous thread similar to this but I could really do with some help for my situation. I haven't been into bmx for long, I'm pretty new to it. I'm comfortable with the basics but I can't manual to save my life. I get the front wheel up no problem but as soon as its up it just falls to the ground.

From what little I can see, my posture seems to be okay. My arms are straight and I'm shifting my weight to the back wheel (pretty much squating). My front wheel still drops. I feel if I lean back any further I'll loop out. I'm only little, maybe I need to lean back a little more to compensate for my tiny 53kg self? Or maybe the fear of looping out and having a bad landing is a barrier between me and pulling this off?

Any tips or tricks that helped you learn would be appreciated!

|

2/6/2017 5:16 PM
Edited Date/Time: 2/6/2017 9:39 PM

Get comfortable with looping out. It's a part of manualing that you will occasionally have to loop out.

Just keep trying, a manual is a fine balance between you pulling up and back on the bars and pushing down and forwards on the pedals. It's more of a balance of tension than anything else. If you're dropping it more than looping out, it means you're not fully committing to it.

It will take time, effort and patience to learn them. It's usually easiest to learn them if you have a set point to start from and a set point you want to reach, 3 car park spaces is what I started with and what I'd recommend anyone else to start with. Tweak how you're trying them so you can figure out the little things that make it easier to go further and get more stable. Occasionally, you'll get one where you're just locked in and go much further than usual and/or find it to be much easier than usual, just take what you did differently in that one and try to do it again in the next one.

|

My Sunday Soundwave V3 Build
Insta: @p.gibbons