how-to: clean/grease my hub&driver. Thinking i want it loud

Related:
Create New Tag

9/17/2014 7:37 PM
Edited Date/Time: 9/17/2014 7:38 PM

i've always done hubs the same way i do headsets and bb's, which is
- alcohol soak/scrub til fully-clean-metal, then
- white lithium grease

I have several things I need to tune-up right now and will need my rear wheel off anyways, so am gonna clean/tune the (cassette)driver and hub while it's all off.
I want to do omit the re-greasing of my hub & driver this time around. I'd dig the noise, and it makes sense that less grease in-between the pawls&hub body, the stronger their contact.
My problem is that i've never tried this before and, when i'd mentioned running cassette hubs dry on this forum, ppl told me it was retarded. On the other hand, i know ppl who've done this (who are very very proficient w/ bike-work and have incredible rides), and i've even seen Profile make similar statements about running your cassette dry (http://www.profileracing.com/2012/03/q-and-a-do-i-need-to-grease-my-profile-cassette-hub-driver/)

So yeah, i'd love any input from ppl who've 'done it dry' (lol) I've already got my wheel off but will be dealing w/ my bb first and foremost, so want input about why i should, or should not, just clean my pawls/springs and hub-body w/ alcohol, then reassemble it dry. The only thing i can think of is rust after some time, but as long as I don't soak the shit in alcohol, it'll still have some level of film and i imagine that'd suffice.. or maybe i'll be back asking for recommendations on a new rear wheel in several months lol (i really did wanna swap to LHD tho.... smile )

thnx for any thoughts.

[edit: And i'm not remotely interested in anyone's subjective opinions on noise levels of drivers/hubs. I'm sure this edit won't stop ppl from chiming in but whatever, at least it's clear this is a technical question and not looking for opinions on taste]

|

9/17/2014 9:51 PM
Edited Date/Time: 9/17/2014 10:01 PM