Fayetteville NC Trails

Related:
Create New Tag

6/23/2010 1:09 PM

First off let me start by saying. I have been digging at these trails off and on since 2002, one of the first guys back there. In 2004, most of the original guys stopped riding for what ever reasons. So the few of us that remained, attempted to recruit more people to help dig and maintain the trails. For those of you that have been back there, I am sure you can see this failed miserably. Word of their location eventually spread like wildfire. Attracting all the people we didn't want back there. In mere weeks, perfectly running lines were destroyed by people who could make it through. They tried to shorten the height of jumps, the length of the gaps, and mellow out the lips. Rendering the trails unridable. Eventually after ruining everything, these said individuals gave up trying(emphasis on trying) to build, and stopped showing up. At which point I and one other friend, rebuild as much as we could, to have something to ride again. This lasted a good while, until we show up after a few weeks of no rain, to do some maintenance, and find everything wrecked again. This rebuilding process has probably happened at least 4 times over the years, as new suckers or myself tried to rebuild.

Anyway, enough with the history lesson. I just got back to Fayetteville after living in Chicago for a while. When I got back, I went to see if the trails were still there, and in what condition. I saw the main set had been changed dramatically, but was excited to see tools out there. The thought of people willing to dig blew my mind. Enough so, for me to build a new rig, after not riding for some years. I also started throwing dirt out there, whenever we got a good rain. I started working on a side project, pump track type deal, that I never got to finish. It was more or less how I had left it, with mild erosion.