Kink

1-30 of 244 Posts
  • C138_kink_orion_blk_psd

    The Good:

    Really solid. Rode for over a year no problem

    The Bad:

    Have a professional lace. Cross lacing can be a little tricky since the spokes go to the opposite side of the rim than the hub flange.

    Overall Review: Got this rim some time ago and it had held up well with no spokes pulling through and not much wobble has formed. I definitely suggest them. I would buy more if I could find them 

    Posted by NateBrown62 on 11/25/2017 6:55 PM

  • C138_bike_solace_k490gld17_w3q

    The Good:

    I had a bama frame and 2.2 tires. This bike is freaking great, even though my last bike was decent, this bike is honestly GREAT. The thing rolls crazy. Brakes are solid. It is silent , no clicking. The head angle is awesome, so easy to turn. The bike does nose wheelies predictably. Seriously it's like I just want to pedal around because the bike fits me so nice! I'm 31" inseam, 5'9" tall. Runs the tires low, and it's simply a better BMX than available years ago, for sure. Blissful to just pedal around, no bullshit.

    The Bad:

    Costs mad money.

    Overall Review: I'm saying, it's worth spending the dough.  The short rear end, the short fork offset, the steep head angle, the good brakes.  It all adds up to a much better bike!  It's really dialed!!!  I never had brakes before, and it's so fun to learn manuals and jump bigger stuff without nearly as much wo...

    Posted by Gino_Pi on 10/1/2017 6:34 PM

  • C138_grips_samurai_k683bk

    The Good:

    Design, grip, price

    The Bad:

    A bit too slim for my tastes, start off kinda hard

    Overall Review: One of my favorite grips but falls short in the comfort area. 

    Posted by Bulletpup on 9/20/2017 11:03 PM

  • C138_sprockets_bedlam_back

    The Good:

    7075 t6 aluminum, 23t option!

    The Bad:

    Nothing...

    Overall Review: I love the 23t version! Helps with knee problems! Great for hills! Simple design but nothing super spectacular in the looks dept.

    Posted by Bulletpup on 9/6/2017 7:32 PM

  • C138_bike_downside_k465raw18_3q

    The Good:

    Solid starter bike, comes with a freecoaster, and tires have great grip

    The Bad:

    Weighs 26.5 pounds stock

    Overall Review: I love the bike made a couple changes to some of the parts and it feels super solid as is.

    Posted by Sircaso98 on 8/7/2017 11:07 PM

  • C138_bike_gapxl_k440blkbs17_w3q

    The Good:

    i like the geometry of the frame and the big ass tires i always wanted bigger tires back in the early 2000's and now they are building the forks and rear chainstays for it and that is really awesome!

    The Bad:

    i bought the bike knowing it had the just chromoly main frame, but still dont like the fact that its not 100%.....i ride pegs and im usually 90% park rider so i dont get burly with dropping hard on my pegs, with that being said, the front fork drop outs are caving in on me, what happened to the nice thick 1/4 " drop outs? i dont care how much weight you are trying to lose, thats an area you should not skimp on.....also because of this,,, my front axle is bent,, because of my front axle being bent, now my front hub is loose, and sounds like shit, i had to buy new wheels, also taking the tires off to switch i noticed the rims are not double walled.....now this is where i said jesus this is bad i did a cranked turndown over a hip, and when i landed the bars pushed forward,,,making my jam into the stem and my chest getting slammed into the stem......i just got done re doing the stem the last time i rode so i know i had the stem cranked tight, withe that being said i think the stem is getting replaced with my old fit stem that had never let any of my bars slip,

    Overall Review: over all i give the kink bike the glory of making it look like you have a really nice bike, but at the end of the day you get what you pay for and i skimped out because i wanted a really nice bike but didnt want to pay a ton.....now im stuck replacing the wheels, stem and later on the frame, i w...

    Posted by thedb63 on 6/7/2017 8:16 PM

  • C138_frame_international_purp

    The Good:

    Its been in use since 2012 and still going today! perfect chainstay and seatube height! Lightweight!

    The Bad:

    Has gotten quite a few dents in it and i wish the head tube was steeper.

    Overall Review: Ive been riding this frame for a long while and never knew the name of it. lol. Fibally figured it out and I've got to hand it to Kink! This frame is still going strong today and has almost no issues beside scratches and a few dents.

    Posted by MUDDYCCTV on 5/18/2017 1:19 PM

  • C138_titan_frame_bb

    The Good:

    Looks sweet. Classic geometry with a shorter backend. Antirust coating inside non translucent frames.

    The Bad:

    Chainstays are too wide. Rear triangle flex is just horrible so cranks dented both chainstays on some sketchy manual 180s and 360s. Lasted about 7 months of light riding then tt cracked on both sides around seatstay junction.

    Overall Review: Badly designed frame overall. Works well with a kink cranks, but some others 2pcs dont fit it properly, especially my flexy 175mm odsy thunderbolts.

    Posted by onevia on 4/5/2017 4:13 AM

  • C138_guard_freecoaster_k7370blk_detail

    The Good:

    Cheap, replaces your non-drive side come nut. Seems to take abuse well, but I mainly ride coped ledges and rails.

    The Bad:

    The sleeve ends up stretching and it doesn't fit snugly onto the cone nut after a while. So sleeve will rotate if not tightened down a stupid amount.

    Overall Review: With all the other brands out there I would just try one of the other universal freecoaster guards, or I would use chromo universals. That or buy the proper brand for your hub.

    Posted by xBeauXDaciousx on 2/12/2017 12:34 AM

  • C138_screen_shot_2015_03_16_at_00.47.54

    The Good:

    Chromoly hub guard, universal, did its job and keeps on going with some assistance. Not too heavy.

    The Bad:

    I cracked it, then I broke off the cracked piece and now I'm just riding it til' it says no more. May have to stretch your frame to fit. I did with both my '13 Benny Lewis Sig and my '16 ALVX v2. Not as beefy as TDGs driver side hub guard.

    Overall Review: This hub guard has been through it. It's been on my bike since Sept. '15 and it is still going even though it broke. It broke just enough to where it was still functional, it's definitely on its last leg now. I have to constantly bend it back if I'm not smooth butter in the grind. For $25 it's o...

    Posted by xBeauXDaciousx on 2/12/2017 12:28 AM

  • C138_screen_shot_2016_01_12_at_7.59.31_pm

    The Good:

    The weight, for those who like light frames
    Very clean cut, and an awesome aesthetic with the headtube badge
    Very nice to handle, geo is on point for all sorts of riding

    The Bad:

    The weight, for anyone who feels more comfortable on a bulkier feeling frame
    No removable tab holes for a gyro setup, which would be an awesome addition

    Overall Review: I believe that this is a super nice frame, and I got mine for a super nice deal. Right around 77 USD shipped from Amazon (normal retail is 330 USD) I've had this frame since October possibly, with no issues at all. handling was much lankier at first but that's because I was coming off a more t...

    Posted by James_Letten17 on 12/14/2016 1:40 PM

  • C138_hubs_incite_group_psd

    The Good:

    It's rolls very nice, loud, strong and fair priced!!

    The Bad:

    The bolts are a little weak for heavy grinding.

    Overall Review: Great hub, sounds great and rolls with ease. Mines laced to a eclat and it is super strong just the bolts are a little weak if you grind a lot.

    Posted by Forrest Sparks on 11/13/2016 7:05 PM

  • C138_barrier_blk_front

    The Good:

    4130 frame, nice fork, light seat, fat 2.3 kink lyra tires last pretty long, double walled alienation black sheep rims, fully sealed front and back hubs, nice red color, strong cranks

    The Bad:

    Bars were too small, got 8.75 rise chrome bars for a replacement. Sprocket bent, chain stretched, bad headset and bottom bracket. Got shadow serpent sprocket, the kmc kool chain, eclat campy spec headset, & kink BB kit for replacements. Grips also wear out quick. Upgrades the pedals to stolen thermolite pedals. And can't run pegs on back axle which sucks

    Overall Review: Feels great in my hands

    Posted by kushna finesse on 8/30/2016 11:09 PM

  • C138_bike_solace_k490gld16_flat1

    The Good:

    All the good that you already know by reading the specs. Built tough.

    The Bad:

    - Rear Dropouts are 14mm, but the female hub bolt is 3/8ths. With no spacer/collar (Empire BMX sells "Axle adapters") the rear wheel has a lot of shake and movement to it, especially if you ride four pegs. Once I put the Kink Driver Hub Guard on, it was difficult to get the wheel to sit straight. It was always pulling to the left. - Fork length is tight, making Toe-jams sketchy

    Overall Review: This bike is light and clean out of the box. You can put it together and go ride it without the addition of any extra parts. It handles like a dream and it is built tough. I wouldn't hesitate to buy it again.

    Posted by StabbyMcHatchet on 5/11/2016 4:42 PM

  • C138_titan_frame_bb

    The Good:

    Its a very durable frame light responsive easy to whip around

    The Bad:

    Theres nothing bad about this frame i love it

    Overall Review: Its a really good frame overall.

    Posted by kinkbmxlover01 on 12/23/2015 1:08 PM

  • C138_2014_kink_launch_matte_black

    The Good:

    I have the 2016 edition and so far, it was fairly solid, it's super light, looks great, and has lots of aftermarket Mission parts stock. love the 8.75 bars

    The Bad:

    The wheels that came on were unsealed, The frame is all hi-tensile steel, My wheels went out of true in 1 day. P.S. Make sure you have a few a spoke wrench and spare zip ties to true the wheel

    Overall Review: I think if you are just starting out, get this bike. It's pretty good for the money. Just make sure you can get a good set of wheels and you're set.

    Posted by Slaytanic Wehrmacht 666 on 10/19/2015 10:22 AM

  • C138_tire_wright_wht

    The Good:

    low price, fairly light but not to thin, medium stiff sidewalls, roll very good and are really grippy. i'd recomend riding them at around 60-70 psi

    The Bad:

    when you like to ride lower airpressure theese tires have a bit too much kolling resistance. they still feel quite good but get way too slugish.
    absolutelly no grip on dirt. as soon as it is a bit dusty you pretty much powerslide everything.

    Overall Review: overall a good tire even tho i'd like a little more agressive thread pattern. this is pretty much the lovechild of the faf-k 2.25 and the odyssey hawks. not my favourite tire but you can't really go wrong wit these things.

    Posted by meister.splinter.750 on 8/19/2015 5:16 AM

  • C138_tire_wright_wht

    The Good:

    nice and wide tire

    The Bad:

    thin sidewals

    Overall Review: after 4 months grinding (not concrete walls) sidewals are destroyed, i think a need change back tire in 2 months or less

    Posted by pepo on 7/16/2015 1:41 PM

  • C138_grips_samurai_k683red

    The Good:

    Good and soft compound, ODI-like feel. Good gripping and really nice bar ends. Quite tacky. It is not as thick as some other grips, but it compensates for that by having a great design and a good compound. They last quite well. Those with death grips might need something else....

    The Bad:

    Slips: loses a bit of grip when hands start sweating. This gets a star off, sadly, as it is important for me.
    Apart from that, nothing bad at all...

    Overall Review: These grips are smooth, and as I said above, tacky and soft. The only gripe is the sweat problem, but that is my fault and not the grip's. They come flangeless and have a nice, straight, and simple bar ends. The design is like mixing an ODI longneck with odyssey chase hawk grips.

    Posted by Skylight on 6/15/2015 7:46 AM

  • C138_screen_shot_2015_03_16_at_01.37.54

    The Good:

    CrMo, Tough, comparable weight to 6061 & 7005

    The Bad:

    No 22m spline drive,

    Overall Review: I would buy it again but I highly doubt I'll need to. It's chromoly

    Posted by Nwewinit on 4/11/2015 9:16 PM

  • C138_screen_shot_2015_03_16_at_01.51.38

    The Good:

    Grippy, fast, high PSi,long lasting

    The Bad:

    Sidewalls aren't really thick for heavy street but they're good for park

    Overall Review: Had them one year and no punctures, really fast ran them at 90 PSi, good tire for park and dirt light street (occasional grinding)

    Posted by kaneBMX on 3/31/2015 5:25 PM

  • C138_bb_kink_k560_19raw

    The Good:

    smooth bearings, spacers look sweet w cranks, super light weight

    The Bad:

    the non drive side spacer is alil big, would be perfect if kink included a medium sized spacer in addition to, other than that would absolutely recommend

    Overall Review: super smooth lightweight bb would absolutely buy it for any build

    Posted by mcd4130 on 1/10/2015 1:53 PM

  • C138_bike_launch_k420pur15

    The Good:

    It has a light weight sturdy frame

    The Bad:

    Grips don't come off good without compressor

    Overall Review: I would recommend this bike to anybody who is just starting out or is riding the trails or even grinding the 6stairs railing at your school just remember to not grind pegless because it will ruin your hubs. Also, get it in black because the sparkling paint shines better. Finally I would chose th...

    Posted by Danryan215 on 11/19/2014 4:53 PM

  • C138_grips_samurai_k683red

    The Good:

    great grip looks cool

    The Bad:

    rips really easy I had mine for about a month when I hardy rode at all

    Overall Review: I wouldn't get them again its up to you tho

    Posted by Frazz456 on 11/12/2014 6:19 PM

  • C138_vela3

    The Good:

    Lasts for a decent amount of time.
    Fast High PSI rating

    The Bad:

    When it wears out it is kinda slippy and prone to punctures. Threads come out of the side wall after 6 - 8 months of heavy riding

    Overall Review: I have had it since Christmas and it has held up surprisingly well, I didn't see any reviews of it any where so I was taking a risk on buying it because I had no idea what the tire was like. The tire is starting to lose its grip and ever so often I will find myself picking threads off the side...

    Posted by kaneBMX on 11/1/2014 4:47 PM

  • C138_sprockets_bedlam_back

    The Good:

    Solid sprocket that comes in some nice colours. These things take a beating, I've hooked it many times during crank arm grinds and it continues to hold up.

    The Bad:

    Nothing that I can think of.

    Overall Review: I would recommend this sprocket to anyone.

    Posted by Bootstrap Bill on 10/23/2014 1:59 PM

  • C138_whip_prp_front

    The Good:

    No parts have broken or got messed up except for the stem.

    The Bad:

    Weak stem, not the best brake system, no gussets anywhere on the frame.

    Overall Review: I bought this bike about a year ago in 2013 and started immediately changing out parts. I didn't like the brakes at all. I tried every way possible to get a stronger pull in response, but to no avail. I tried new pads, adjusting cables, but nothing worked. These are the Mission Halt brakes, but ...

    Posted by readybmxer on 10/18/2014 12:16 AM

  • C138_solace_stealth_seats

    The Good:

    Durable, looks killer

    The Bad:

    Hard as a rock. Makes u never want to sit down even for resting

    Overall Review: I bought this seat strictly for looks. It looks awesome on my bike. After the first time riding my bike with it I noticed I don't notice its there as much as my older wider seat. For this reason I love it but for the times I'm resting, sitting down, talking with friends or cruising down hill, th...

    Posted by fifth gear on 10/12/2014 12:42 PM

  • C138_94622630_1285880211

    The Good:

    Strong, durable, and reliable handlebars.

    The Bad:

    Do not come with reference lines on the end of bars for cutting.

    Overall Review: I love these bars!! Purchased them in chrome and they still shine like new. A little too wide but that is my own preference. Would definitely recommend them.

    Posted by 9chr1s6 on 9/1/2014 11:23 PM

  • C138_bars_human_blk

    The Good:

    perfect geometry

    The Bad:

    bent after 1 year of riding

    Overall Review: mine bent after 1 years so um yea im not quite sure what to say, maybe it was just bad luck, im still gonna give them 5 stars

    Posted by gabiasdsda on 8/20/2014 11:00 PM